Home > Bakura, Bengat, Corellia, Interview, Nar Shaddaa, News Release, Orto Plutonia, Tython, Ukio, Varonat, Yavin 4 > Newly Elected Chancellor Downz Gives His First Public Speech

Newly Elected Chancellor Downz Gives His First Public Speech

March 18, 2012

Reporters Daana Kira and Rakiko Lowtide were invited to Corellia to attend the first public speech by the newly elected Chancellor of the Republic, Chancellor Downz.

A shot of a location on Corellia from above

Corellia: Chancellor Downz gave a speech talking on several points from his election to the current state of the Republic. His complete speech is included here in its entirety.

“I’d like to talk about my campaign for Chancellorship, there are some people I would like to thank. First of all, I’d like to thank all my supporters during my campaign for Chancellorship, a few major ones would be Former Chancellor and Acting Bakuran Prime Minister Talia, Former Chancellor Baccus, Captain Snoop of the Grand Army of the Republic, Minister of Defence Ryan Adams, among with the Senators who voted for me and many more people. The campaign was a successful campaign. Secondly I would like to thank all the Senators in the Republic for their dedication and work towards democracy.

“After the results were announced, we had a quick meeting in regards to the planets seeking to join the Republic. In this meeting, we voted on Orto Plutonia and Bengat to accept their applications to join the Republic. Ukio a system that had been reported as not being part of the Senate, is actually a part of the Senate. I will be contacting all these planets individually in the next few days to invite their Senators to have a special meeting with me, ahead of the next Senate meeting.

“Although with all good news, sometimes bad news comes. I was informed that the people of Varanot has decided to no longer be a Republican Planet. This is sad news to my office. However I would like to send Former Senator Hixal, my best wishes in his future adventures.

“At the moment, some Republic worlds currently have two issues facing them. We have the threat of the Rakghoul, who have recently landed on Yavin IV, they luckily have been pushed back, and some casualties on the Republic side were obtained. During these skirmishes with the Rakghoul, several different parties have played major roles in helping the KOJ maintain their home grounds, this includes The Grand Army of the Republic, KOJ themselves, along with the Mandalorian Munit’kad Aliit. I would also like to thank those who have helped, who I have not named. I am grateful for the work that the KOJ has done, in securing a cure for the infection from the Rakghoul’s while still holding them off. I have been informed by Master Solo. ” He would begin to quote Master Solo “that after they attack and bite or whatever they do, you have about 48 hours before you turn into one yourself.

“The next topic I would like to comment on, is the Tython Governorship issue, by stating that I have tasked Senator Nasaji Oba with the task of investigating what exactly is going on there. I, along with the Senator are baffled by the turn of events on Tython, however we do wish to get to the bottom of it. While speaking on Tython, I would like to speak to the leaders of the Tython Liberation Front. If you continue on your course of action that you are currently on, then I will have no other choice then to declare you as a terrorist faction. The situation with the Governor of Tython will be dealt with, and currently he does not have a federal warrant out on him. I do encourage the Governor to come forward and speak with me. As I am quite keen on hearing what his point of view on this matter is. I’d also like to thank Blade Squadron Commander Jarvis and Blade Squad member Parts for assisting with dealing with the Tython Liberation Front’s actions today while I was on Tython. Along with Clone Trooper Runes on his assistance.

“The last thing I would like to talk about, and probably why you are wondering why you are on Corellia for this meeting. Is during my last days as Senator of Bakura, I was in talks with the Corellian Government, they have allowed GAR to set up a small outpost of Corellia. The name of the outpost is Outpost Therran. This outpost will serve as a training grounds not only for GAR soldiers, but also for NRGF personnel. Corellia is possibly looking at joining the Republic, and are still taking votes from their citizens regarding it.”

Chancellor Downz (centre) giving his first speech.

The Chancellor then opened the floor to questions. First he reiterated that currently the warrant against the governor of Tython has been withdrawn, but gave no other details about what had transpired there, other than there was several confusing elements. As for the five ships that are feared to also contain populations of Rakgouls, one was destroyed by the Munit’kad Mandalorian Clan and another crashed on Nar Shaddaa. The Chancellor will sit down with Minister of Defence Adams to make plans for the remaining three.

Hopefully this will be the first of periodic speeches by the new Chancellor.

— Rakiko Lowtide, Daana Kira

  1. Morrigan Wemyss
    March 18, 2012 at 6:17 AM

    While I offer my congraluations to Bengat for being allowed into the republic, on behalf of my sister who has stated before is sadly, in ill health. There are a few matter dealing with Bengat that must be sorted now that is offically in the republic. Nothing that should take to much of the republic precious time, formalties for the most part. However, in ensure a smooth transition, they must be handled as soon as possible.

  2. ryanryanadams
    March 18, 2012 at 8:25 AM

    Congrats, Chancellor! It must have been a difficult task handling your campaign, but you have pulled through!

  3. Sha'ira
    March 18, 2012 at 11:29 AM

    Congrats Chancellor Downz, hopefully we can all work together to further unify the Republic. Its civilians needs properly represented by the Senators as well as GAR, NRGF along with the Jedi to ensure Republic Space is safe.

  4. March 19, 2012 at 4:16 AM

    I would like to congratulate the Chancellor, I hope he can serve the Republic greatly. Although the people of Varonat have called for the planet to be independent i have decided to look else where to the future of my political career… i hope to be working with the Republic again soon.

  5. massquesti
    March 21, 2012 at 11:57 AM

    As I emerged from the lift and stepped out on to the floor of the Senate, an overwhelming sense washed over me. I immediately could detect a renewed energy filling the Senate Chamber. For the first time in quite a few years, I felt as if idealism and pride in the Republic, had returned to Coruscant. Senators seemed to be working in earnest toward amicable closure to outstanding resolutions (such as Bengat’s admission to the Republic), and a strong aire of respect seemed to permeate the chamber.

    I looked up at Downz the day of his election, and couldn’t help but smile. I’ve had the pleasure of working with Downz since I was a Jedi Knight on Coruscant, many decades ago.. While his platoon was not always assigned to the military campaigns I was leading, it’s been obvious to me that his particularly unique traits do lend themselves to a life in politics. While other Officers of the Grand Army have displayed strong tendencies toward the political arena (Church comes to mind), this is the first time, to my knowledge, an active duty member of the Grand Army has risen to the position of Supreme Chancellor.

    I spent the duration of the journey from Coruscant to Uvena Prime reflecting and meditating on this turn of events, which I failed to foresee. In studying the threads of the Force surrounding this election, I’ve come to realize that this represents an opportunity for the Republic to not only establish a defined working relationship between it and the Grand Army, but to clearly outline the military agenda and socio-galactic posture of defense and unilateralism to the identified threats that exist in the Galaxy today.

    My only words of guidance to you Chancellor, is to maintain the division between civilian and military leadership. The greatest defeat you could lead the Republic to, would be a surveillance-state and subsequent control of the citizens by the very force that was originally meant to preserve the sentient-rights and democratic voice of the people.

    I think it goes unsaid Chancellor, that you have my unwavering loyalty. I foresee a great renaissance for the Republic, and I’m confident you and the passionate members of the Senate can actualize it for those that entrust you with it’s stewardship.

  6. March 21, 2012 at 7:00 PM

    A woman sits on a bench, in front of the memorial statue of a clone trooper, on Bakura. Her red hair is pulled up and out of her face on her head. A smile on her pink pinks, her cybernetic eyes adjusting. She says,

    “Greetings to all in The New Republic and readers of The GNN. It is a great day for The New Republic and The Galactic Senate. I am sitting here in front of a memorial here on Bakura, in memory to the many who have fought and died for our Freedom in The New Republic.

    I am happy to return back to the place where I grew up after the terrible loss of my parents on Coruscanti. Bakura has been the home to many strong willed people. Who have been challenged left and right but still stand strong. I am proud that the people have chosen wisely in their decision for our next Galactic Senate Chancellor.

    I wish him well on his run and I hope he can bring a great renaissance to the people of The New Republic. Having spoken with The Chancellor, I know he will try his best at being the voice of the people on The Galactic Senate. With ideas that I hope will revolutionize politics as well as the peoples interest in their government. He has the heart of The Bakuran people with him to guide us all into a grander more amazing future for all in The New Republic.

    Long Live The New Republic and Long Live The Galactic Senate.

    Bebe Benae

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.